June 2, 2020 UMD Home FabLab AIMLab

16th International Conference on Non-Contact Atomic Force Microscopy


August 5 - 9, 2013

Maryland, USA


The NC-AFM 2013 Conference continues a series of international conferences dedicated to research at the frontiers of science and technology of nc-AFM and spectroscopy.  The conference covers experimental, theoretical, and instrumental contributions on frequency modulation and other dynamic and static operation modes with particular emphasis on high resolution imaging and force spectroscopy for a broad range of applications in nanosciences.  


The conference welcomes contributions for oral and poster presentations dealing with one or more of the following topics:

  1. Novel Instrumentation and techniques in AFM
  2. Atomic resolution imaging on insulating substrates, semiconductors, and metals
  3. Atomic resolution imaging on molecular systems
  4. High-resolution imaging of clusters, biomolecules, and biological systems
  5. Atomic- and molecular-scale manipulation
  6. Combined force and tunneling spectroscopy
  7. High-resolution imaging and spectroscopy in liquid environments
  8. Theoretical analysis of contrast mechanisms; forces & tunneling phenomena
  9. Measuring tip-sample interaction potentials and mapping 2D and 3D force fields
  10. Small amplitude and lateral force measurements using dynamic methods
  11. Mechanisms for damping and energy dissipation
  12. Measuring nanoscale charges, work function, and magnetic properties
  13. Simulation of images and virtual SPM systems
  14. Tapping mode versus non-contact mode imaging
  15. Multifrequency techniques 

Important Dates

  Abstract Submission OPEN

  Exhibitor registration OPEN

  Registration OPEN

  Abstracts due April 22

  Acceptance notifications will be sent late May



Steering Committee


T. Arai, Kanazawa University, Japan
Th. Glatzel, University of Basel, Switzerland
P. Grutter, McGill University, Canada
H. Hölscher, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
P. Jelinek, Czech Academy of Science, Czech Republic
H. Onishi, Kobe University, Japan
R. Perez, University Autonoma of Madrid, Spain
M. Reichling, University of Osnabrück, Germany
U. Schwarz, Yale University, USA
A. Shluger, University College London, UK


Program Committee


M. Abe, Nagoya University, Japan
C. Barth, Marseille Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center, France
Y. Cho, Tohoku University, Japan
D. Ebeling, University of Maryland, USA
A. Foster, Aalto University at Helsinki, Finland
T. Fukuma, Kanazawa University, Japan
F. Giessibl, University of Regensburg, Germany
E. Herruzo, Madrid Institute of Materials Science, Spain
S. Kalinin, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
S. Kawai, University of Basel, Switzerland
A. Raman, Purdue University, USA
O. Sahin, Columbia University, USA
A. Schirmeisen, University of Giessen, Germany
A. Schwarz, University of Hamburg, Germany
M. Tomitori, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
H. Yamada, Kyoto University, Japan


Local Organization Committee


R. Cook, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
W. Cullen, University of Maryland, USA
M. Dreyer, University of Maryland, USA
S. Solares, University of Maryland, USA (Chair)
J. Stroscio, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA



Former conferences were held in Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic (2012); Lindau, Germany (2011); Kanazawa, Japan (2010); New Haven, USA (2009); Madrid, Spain (2008) Antalya, Turkey (2007); Kobe, Japan (2006); Bad Essen, Germany (2005); Seattle, USA (2004); Dingle, Ireland (2003); Montreal, Canada (2002); Kyoto Japan (2001); Hamburg, Germany (2000); Pontresina, Switzerland (1999); and Osaka, Japan (1998).

Sponsored by NSF and The University of Maryland Department of Mechanical Engineering

April 16, 2013

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

MSE Alum Awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

UMD Researchers Design ‘Open’ Lithium-ion Battery

UMD Research Lab Receives ARO Grant to Investigate Reconfigurable Nanoparticle Assemblies

Two Engineers Among 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teachers

2020 Undergraduate Honors and Awards

Cleaning Natural Methane for Better Access to Renewable Energy

New, superfast method for ceramic manufacturing could open door to AI-driven materials discovery

Advance made towards next-generation rechargable batteries

Become a Contender: Electric Racecar

Terrapin 'Works' Toward Relief Efforts


Colleges A. James Clark School of Engineering
The College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences

Communicate Contact Us
Contact the Webmaster
Follow us on TwitterTwitter logo

Links Privacy Policy

Copyright The University of Maryland University of Maryland